60th Anniversary | Illinois Poison Center 

60th Anniversary

Dec 04, 2020
Print This Page

Specially trained toxicology experts make up the nation's oldest poison center.


Click here to listen to Congressman Danny Davis congratulate the IPC on its 60th anniversary.


“I don’t want to run to the ER or call the doctor every time I have a question. It is so nice to have a service where you get a quick, reliable and up to date answer. Being able to call any time of day and get, accurate answers that even your doctors rely on is an amazing service!”

-Mara G.


In 1953, pharmacist Louis Gdalman established the Illinois Poison Center (IPC) as a free service to help Illinoisans deal with poison exposures. In the early years of the IPC, there were over one hundred poison centers in the state; many of them in emergency or pharmacy departments of community hospitals. The number of poison information centers dwindled through the years and in 1997, when the last poison center housed at Rush Presbyterian St. Luke was about to shut its doors, the IPC moved to the Metropolitan Chicago Healthcare Council.


For six decades, the IPC has been a resource for the public and health care professionals alike, and a trusted voice in potentially hazardous situations. A staff of 22 pharmacists, nurses and toxicologists serve the largest single population of any poison center in the country, managing nearly 82,000 calls per year in the state.




What People Are Saying About the IPC...


IPC Callers

Health Care Professionals




Proclamations:      Governor Pat Quinn

                            Illinois Senate

                            Illinois House of Representatives

                            Mayor Rahm Emanuel

                            Rep. Peter J. Roskam

                                            Cook County Board of Commissioners

                            Metro Counties of Illinois

                            County Board of McHenry County

                            County Board of DuPage County

                            County Board of Kane County







Bookmark and Share